Schaumburg’s OSC Historic District is the area generally surrounding the intersection of Schaumburg and Roselle Roads. The village seeks to strengthen the aesthetics and economics of the district by enabling the development and/or redevelopment of quality retail, commercial, office and residential uses in a village centre setting. The district allows for contemporary land uses while emphasizing pedestrian orientation within an intimate streetscape design.
TheOSC was originally developed in the 1840's as a small farming community known as "Sarah's Grove." This farm settlement represented the first concentration of development in the area. In 1850, the area's name was changed to Schaumburg Township, reflective of the Schaumburg area of Germany from where many of the settlers had immigrated. With the name change, the concentration of homes and businesses at the crossroads became known as "Schaumburg Centre." During years of rapid growth and change in the village, many of the centre's original structures were altered significantly or destroyed. However, enough of the original buildings remain to give the district a unique character that sets it apart from the more modern developments found in other areas of the village.Additional information can be found on the Schaumburg History section of the website.
The intent and purpose of the OSC Design Manual is to provide guidelines with which to evaluate design within the OSC District and the various landmark buildings outside the OSC.
There are several buildings designated in the OSC as local landmark structures which exemplify the architectural character of the district.
|Fenz House||12 E. Schaumburg Road|
|Panzer House and Barn||133 E. Schaumburg Road|
|Turret House||17 E. Schaumburg Road|
|Lengl House||13 E. Quindel Avenue|
|The Buttery||105 S. Roselle Road|
|Atcher-Groen House||593 Groen Court|
|Kern-Schmitt Mansion||300 Lexington Court|
|Schweikher House & Studio||645 S. Meacham Road|
|Jennings House, Barn & Caretaker's House||221& 217 Civic Drive|
|Schaumburg Athletic Association||1307 Sharon Lane|
|St. Peter Lutheran Church Complex||218, 220, 222, 236 & 302 E. Schaumburg Road and cemetery|
There are several buildings within the OSC which exhibit unique characteristics and add a contextual component to the District, but may no longer be as historically or architecturally significant due toadditions or alterations.
|Lou Malnati's||1 S. Roselle Road|
|Easy Street Pub||17 S. Roselle Road|
|Hartmann House & Barn||32 E. Schaumburg Road|
|Homestead House||105E. Schaumburg Road|
|Office Building||11 E. Schaumburg Road|
|Three Folk Victorians||34, 106 & 110 S. Lengl Drive|
Specific regulations wereestablished to regulate the location, size, placement and certain features of signs in the OSC District for the purpose of maintaining the integrity and enhancing the historical character of the area. The regulations are intended to encourage compatibility between the signs and the architecture of the district and promote the preservation of the area. For more information, please view the OSC Sign Resource Guide.
National Alliance of Historic Preservation Commissions
National Trust for Historic Preservation
Illinois Historic Preservation Agency
Landmarks Preservation Council of Illinois
Chicago Architecture Foundation
Illinois Association of Historic Preservation Commissions
For more information regarding the OSC District, contact the Community Development Department at 847.923.4430.
The mission of the Schaumburg Township Historical Society is to learn about the past and promote interest in the history of Schaumburg Township, its residents, and local customs, and to preserve the knowledge, information and materials for the use and benefit of future generations. For more information, please visit the Schaumburg Township Historical Society website.