Dear Friends:


Without volunteers, Schaumburg’s Village government could not function. The Zoning Board, the Plan Commission, Schaumburg’s Board of Health are all comprised of volunteers. Volunteers organize and operate Septemberfest. Volunteers serve as members of the Village’s Cultural Commission, Bikeways Committee, and Olde Schaumburg Centre Commission. Volunteers hire Schaumburg’s police officers and fire fighters through the Police and Fire Commission.


Please volunteer some time on behalf of volunteers and nominate an adult for Volunteer of the Year, a Junior High through High School age Youth of the Year and/or a worthy organization for Volunteer Organization of the Year. We need to hear about the good that some people are doing and about the fine work that volunteer organizations are involved in. Your help will help us give these folks the recognition they deserve. Please feel free to forward the nomination materials to a colleague if an organization or individual does not immediately come to mind and/or share the information about this wonderful awards opportunity at any of your group’s upcoming events.

Al Larson
Schaumburg Village President

 Content Editor Web Part

 Volunteer of the Year 

group of people

Nominate Someone today for Volunteer of the Year!

The 29th Annual Volunteer of the Year Luncheon recognizes adults, young people and organizations who, through volunteer efforts, help to make Schaumburg a better place. There are three nominating categories:
  • Village of Schaumburg 60th AnniversaryAdult Volunteer
  • Volunteer Organization
  • Youth Volunteer (junior high or high school age)
Help us recognize our volunteers - make a nomination!
Nominations must be submitted by April 1, 2016.
Volunteer of the Year Awards Luncheon
Tuesday, April 19, 2016, 11:30 a.m.
Chandler's Chop House
401 N. Roselle Road, Schaumburg, IL
Welcoming Remarks: Village President Al Larson
For more information, email the Schaumburg Special Events Coordinator or call 847.923.3605.
Previous Winners
Adult / Organization / Youth
1988 Ruth Park / The United Way
1989 Jarnette Dill / Schaumburg Jaycees
1990 Christine Fenn / Schaumburg-Hoffman Lions
1991 Pete Justen / Conant High School’s Learning Through Action
1992 Everett Stenstrom / Community Nutrition Network
1993 Bob Cairns / Help Our People Everywhere
1994 Steve Isackson / WACO
1995 Geri Czech / Schaumburg Athletic Association
1996 Christine Starzynski / Strays Halfway House
1997 Gordon Mazursky / Spring Valley Nature Club
1998 Marilyn Biolchin / Schaumburg Peer Jury
1999 Kathy Ary / Schaumburg Jaycees
2000 JoAnn Owens / Rotary Club of Schaumburg-Hoffman
2001 Nelson McRoberts / Citizens Police Academy / Alumni Association of Schaumburg
2002 Marinell Napier / Prairie Center Arts Foundation & Friends of the Prairie Center
2003 Mary Nagy / VFW Post 2202 / Ashley Kehoe
2004 LaVerne Horgan / Spring Valley Concert Band / Mallory Scholpp
2005 Mary Lynn McGee / Septemberfest Committee / Susan Thomas
2006 Ann Long / Motorola Asian Business Council / Matthew Bauer
2007 Sara VanDahm / American Legion Post #1983 / Ashley Darnall
2008 Valerie M. Profit / UPS for DownS / Rachael Souza
2009 Carol Hall / Clearbrook PAL Program /  Payal Shukla
2010 Larry & René Netzer / Ala Carte Entertainment Volunteer Program for SLSF & the Ala Carte Entertainment - NWSRA Golf Classic / Lisa Caponigri
2011 Richard A. "Bud" Napier / Assurance Caring Together (ACT) Committee / Jay Flynn
2012 Dan & Debbie Gallagher / Feed My Starving Children / Iza Gawel
2013 Harold Sterling / Sons and Daughters of Italy in America / Isha Jog
2014 Teri Dudasik / Schaumburg Professional Firefighters Benevolent Association (SPFBA)/ Amanda Mytych & Sania Zaffar
2015 Lynn Eikenbary / Schaumburg MOMS Club / Elizabeth Einig
201 Schaumburg Court, Schaumburg, IL 60193-1899
P: 847.895.3600

Dial 311 for non-emergency requests